Coturnix Corner UK
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Aviary flooring plan

+2
andoy
Norfolk Quail Keeper
6 posters

Go down

Aviary flooring plan Empty Aviary flooring plan

Post by Norfolk Quail Keeper Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:20 pm

Hi,
I'm new to keeping quail and will be buying some soon . I plan to keep them in an aviary which I'm currently building. What would be the best thing for the floor? I don't like the idea of concrete, as it seems a bit cruel. As the aviary will be huge for just 4 japs and some cockatiels, I wondered whether grass might survive? If not, would bark chippings work.
Also, are elderflower plants ok for quail, as I didn't want to get rid of the ones that are already in the aviary. And for cockatiels?
Any advice much appreciated.

Norfolk Quail Keeper
Fresh Egg
Fresh Egg

Male
Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2008-08-28

Back to top Go down

Aviary flooring plan Empty Re: Aviary flooring plan

Post by andoy Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:49 pm

Welcome
Concrete is definitely the easiest to keep clean and cruel isn't an adjective I'd use. It's a perfectly good base for an aviary and it prevents rats and foxes.

However, I do share your dislike for concreting my garden/back yard. I have a wire mesh at the bottom of my aviary (to prevent foxes and rats getting in) and cover mine with pea gravel.

Depending on the number of birds you keep, you'll probably find most plants in the aviary will be decimated fairly quickly. I don't think grass will last long unless you give them loads of space. I'm not too sure about keeping elderflower. The leaves and unripe berries are toxic, though quail may be able to tolerate it. Personally, I'd remove the elderflower.
andoy
andoy
Northern Bobwhite
Northern Bobwhite

Male
Number of posts : 916
My eBay : andoyolg
Species Kept : Japanese and Bobwhite
Registration date : 2008-03-13

http://andoy.co.uk

Back to top Go down