Coturnix Corner UK
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Ginger / Red colour form

+3
Ironsun
internet_nobody
andoy
7 posters

Go down

Ginger / Red colour form Empty Ginger / Red colour form

Post by andoy Fri Mar 14, 2008 11:31 pm

hi everyone,

I have an interest in genetics (I used to
love to predict colour and feather patterns when I used to breed budgies).

I'm new to quails, but I've been doing some research on the different colour forms. I have seen references to "ginger" and "red" forms, but not seen them being sold anywhere. Anyone seen these?

Is this a distinct colour mutation or the result of a combination of existing colour factors (e.g. Fawn/Gold or Fawn/Range)? I suggest Fawn (or Cinnamon) might be a factor because the pictures I've seen (Quails from Wales web site) look like a darker form of Fawn. Also, because Fawn is recessive which would explain why it's quite rare. I obviously don't know and am purely speculating. Anyone out there bred this/these colours?

Cheers,
Andoy
andoy
andoy
Northern Bobwhite
Northern Bobwhite

Male
Number of posts : 916
My eBay : andoyolg
Species Kept : Japanese and Bobwhite
Registration date : 2008-03-13

http://andoy.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Ginger / Red colour form Empty Re: Ginger / Red colour form

Post by internet_nobody Sat Mar 15, 2008 3:21 am

Suz and I have been trying to figure out the genetic base for some of her colours.

We know its not cinnamon, and probably not ginger going by inheritance. Its also not fawn because its the wrong colour.

I saw a funny colour on ebay recently, and asked the seller what colour the chick was at hatch, then asked if he'd have any for sale in a month as my brooders were full, unfortunately I never got a reply so looks like I won't have chance to test Sad
internet_nobody
internet_nobody
Northern Bobwhite
Northern Bobwhite

Female
Number of posts : 915
My eBay : internet_nobody
Registration date : 2007-09-26